website design software
Kristiana Ignatjeva

Latvian cellist Kristiana Ignatjeva is a scholar studying for her Artist Diploma at the Royal College of Music, London with professor Melissa Phelps and has received been awarded an Ian Evans Lombe scholarship. Kristiana has obtained degrees with distinction in Master of Performance and Bachelor of Music. In 2010 Kristiana joined the Purcell School of Music where she studied with professor Robert Cohen.

Kristiana has worked with many prominent musicians including Vladimir Ashkenazy, Gianandrea Noseda, Vladimir Jurowski, Alan Gilbert, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Pinchas Zukerman, Nicola Benedetti, Sasha Rozhdestvensky, Zuill Bailey. Last season she gave performances of Elgar concerto with Nottingham Symphony Orchestra, Haydn C major concerto with the London Mozart Players and Tchaikovsky Rococo Variations in the UK. In November, she will be performing the Dvorak concerto with Essex Symphony Orchestra.

Kristiana has won many international and national competitions, recently being awarded the Muriel Taylor Scholarship (2016) and the First Prize and Unaccompanied Bach Prize at the Violoncello competition at the Royal College of Music, London (2018, 2017 and 2015). She has participated in many masterclasses with professors such as Jerome Pernoo, Hans- Jorgen Torleif, Christoph Richter, Hans-Jurgen Jensen, Franz Bartolomey, Melissa Kraut, Raphael Wallfisch, Hillel Zori, Natalie Clein and Johannes Goritzki.

Kristiana has given recitals across Europe and North America in major concert halls including the Wigmore Hall, Royal Festival Hall, Royal Albert Hall, Cadogan Hall. She enjoys playing chamber music and regularly takes part in chamber music festivals across Europe. This season Kristiana is also one of the few musicians to be selected for the Countess of Munster Recital Scheme. She has also taken part in London Symphony Orchestra string experience scheme and English National Opera scheme.

Kristiana plays on an Italian cello by Matteo Goffriller kindly loaned by the Royal College of Music, London.

Her accompanist will be Alison Rhind.

This concert is supported by the Countess of Munster Musical Trust

Programme - 18 October 2019

Beethoven Sonata for cello and piano in G major no. 2 (29)

Grieg Sonata for cello and piano (27)

Miaskovsky Sonata for cello and piano no. 1 (20)

Tchaikovsky Pezzo Capriccioso (7)

[Home] [2019-20 season] [Kristiana Ignatjeva] [Andrey Lebedev] [Barbican Quartet] [Metamorphoses] [Ugnius Pauliukonis] [Season 2018-9] [Past Performers]