website design software
Akiko Saxophone Quartet

Akiko Saxophone Quartet

Jasmine Brown

Matthew Hodson

Zack Smith

Leah Waddington


Hoe Down - Gregory 

Andante et Scherzo - Bozza 

Quartet No.1 Movement 1 - Mintzer 

Children’s Songs - Correa arr Buckland 

Pavane - Faure arr Brown

Pure Imagination - Bricusse and Newley arr Brown

Phonetasy - Nilsson 


Toccata and Fuge - J.S. Bach arr Wood

Tales of the Sun God - Hall 

Aurora - Simmons 

Sarajevo - Lago 

Libertango - Piazolla 

The Akiko Saxophone Quartet, formed in 2021, are an award-winning Saxophone Quartet from the Royal Northern College of Music. Under the current tutelage of Robert Buckland (Apollo Quartet), the quartet represents the modern saxophone quartet by pushing the boundaries of the standard repertoire. Its repertoire ranges from the classical core repertoire and jazz to the contemporary pieces.

Since the group was formed, they have given the UK premiere of Sally Beamish’s Opus California. The composer, who was in the audience, said that Akiko was 'the perfect match with the tonal, lyrical, and reflective qualities of her piece.' The quartet were the winners of the Fewkes Wind Chamber Music Prize in March of 2023 and has participated in masterclasses with world renowned tutors such as Timothy McAllister (Prism Quartet), and Amy Dickson, as well as featuring as Spotlight Artists at the Huddersfield Saxophone Day 2022.

The members of Akiko have regular engagements across the North-West of England. They each aim to bring awareness of the classical saxophone tradition. With many bespoke arrangements by their Baritone Saxophonist, Jasmine Brown, Akiko ensure a varied and progressive repertoire in each performance.

The Akiko Quartet appear by kind permission of the RNCM.